Sem News

RSS Feeds
Alerts Signup
Posted Friday, Jun 23, 2017 

Natalie Granger of Kingston, a pre-kindergarten teacher at Wyoming Seminary Lower School, received the prestigious Frances and Louis Maslow Lower School Award for excellence in teaching during the school's recent eighth-grade graduation ceremony.

Granger received the honor in recognition of her effective teaching, support of the academic program and ideals of the school, and positive influence on the lives of the students, said Kevin Rea, Sem president.

Granger, who joined the Lower School early childhood faculty in 2001, has taught kindergarten for one year and pre-kindergarten for 15 years. She also serves as the primary assembly coordinator and was the middle school assistant coach for girls lacrosse for five years. She also is a member of the Luzerne County Reading Council for the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE). She frequently gives presentations on the use of educational technology in early childhood and primary grades to the Keystone State Reading Conference, ISTE, the Pa. Educational Technology Expo and Conference, and the Future of Education Technology Conference.

Prior to joining Sem, she taught first and second grade in the Lewiston, Maine public school system for four years.

She holds a bachelor of arts degree in early childhood and elementary education from Furman University and a master of science in education degree with a focus on classroom technology from Wilkes University.

Posted Friday, Jun 23, 2017 

Wyoming Seminary College Preparatory School recently announced the 2017-2018 recipients of the Levi Sprague Fellowships, which represent the highest honor that the school bestows for leadership service. Awarded annually to commemorate the 70-year tenure of Wyoming Seminary's fourth president, the fellowship honors student leaders in academic, athletic and extracurricular life. It also fosters a close and positive relationship between the day and boarding communities of the school by bringing some day students into the dormitories.

This year's Levi Sprague Fellows are rising seniors Abigail Capin, Samantha Immidisetti and Ziming Liu.

Levi Sprague Fellows are expected to serve as models to the rest of the student body. Nominations of juniors by students and faculty members are gathered in April and May and passed on to a committee of faculty and current Levi Sprague Fellows. The committee makes the final decision, selecting three to five Fellows annually.

Recognized students receive full room and board for their senior year and must agree to board on campus for their senior year.

The 2017-2018 Levi Sprague Fellows are, from left: Ziming Liu, Abigail Capin and Samantha Immidisetti.

Posted Friday, Jun 23, 2017 

Avery Conyngham, a recent graduate of Wyoming Seminary College Preparatory School, is the 2017 recipient of the Charlotte R. Levy Memorial Mock Trial Prize, in recognition of her many significant contributions to the Sem Mock Trial Team. Conyngham, who served as a team co-captain, received the award prior to Commencement.

The award is named in memory of the late Charlotte R. Levy, a member of the Sem social studies faculty who served for many years as the Mock Trial team's distinguished advisor and coach.

Seen following the presentation of the Charlotte R. Levy Memorial Mock Trial Prize are, from left: Avery Conyngham, award recipient; and Adam Carlisle, Sem Mock Trial Team teacher coach.

Posted Friday, Jun 23, 2017 

Abigail Capin, a rising senior at Wyoming Seminary College Preparatory School, has been named the recipient of Sem's Wallace F. and Sue B. Stettler Scholarship Award.

The late Dr. Wallace Stettler was president emeritus of Wyoming Seminary, serving as the school's ninth president from 1967 to 1990.

Established in 1990, the award is given to a returning student who 1) performs to his or her academic ability; 2) participates enthusiastically in the life of the school; 3) gives evidence on campus and/or in the community at large of caring for others and a sensitivity to the needs of people; and 4) possesses the traits to project that caring and sensitivity constructively in the world.

Seen following the award presentation are Capin, left, and Kevin Rea, President of Wyoming Seminary.

Posted Thursday, Jun 22, 2017 

Juan Astegiano, a 2017 graduate of Wyoming Seminary College Preparatory School, recently received the Janee Armstrong Friedmann Prize in History. The prize is awarded annually to a member of the graduating class who, in the opinion of the faculty, demonstrates a passion for the study of history while achieving excellence in the discipline. The scholarship award was established in 2015 by the family of Janee Armstrong Friedmann '55 in appreciation of the example of her life and the education she received at Sem. Seen following the presentation of the award are, from left: Juan Astegiano, award recipient; and Kevin Rea, Sem president.

    1560 Wyoming Ave, Forty Fort, PA 18704
    201 North Sprague Ave, Kingston, PA 18704
  • GENERAL INQUIRIES: 570-270-2100
  • ADMISSION INQUIRIES: 570-270-2160


Wyoming Seminary is an independent college preparatory private school and boarding school in Pennsylvania's Wyoming Valley. Sem strives for success in academics, athletics, STEM, fine arts and performing arts. Boarding school, day school and summer program options available. Affordable tuition & scholarships offered.

Wyoming Seminary - About Us, Independent School in PA
Wyoming Seminary - Admission, Tuition and Financial Aid
Wyoming Seminary - Academics in Northeastern PA
Wyoming Seminary - Campus Life in PA
Wyoming Seminary - Athletics in NEPA
Wyoming Seminary - Arts, PAI, Performing Arts Institute
Wyoming Seminary - Summer Programs, ESL, English as a Second Language
Wyoming Seminary - Alumni from NEPA
email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite