The Wyoming Seminary Board of Trustees is pleased to announce that Thomas C. Whitworth III has joined the Sem community as the Interim President for the 2021-2022 academic year. 

Thomas C. Whitworth III

Mr. Whitworth most recently served as Headmaster of the Darlington School in Rome, Ga., from 2005 to 2014. He was the Founding Headmaster at Flint Hill School in Oakton, Va., from 1989 to 2005. In addition, Mr. Whitworth served as Assistant Headmaster and Academic Dean at St. Stephen’s School in Alexandria, Va.; Headmaster at Frederica Academy, St. Simon’s Island, Ga.; Assistant Headmaster and Upper School Director at Sea Pines Academy, Hilton Head Island, S.C.

Mr. Whitworth began his career in education in Fairfax County Public Schools, Fairfax, Va., where he taught high school English and Journalism. He has also taught American Literature and has served as a College Counselor, Athletic Director, and coach for boys and girls basketball and football.

A graduate of the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, N.C., Mr. Whitworth earned a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism. He continued his education at The Citadel, Charleston, S.C., where he earned his Masters in Education, Secondary Education and Supervision and English. 

Mr. Whitworth’s related experience includes numerous leadership positions in academic associations. He most recently served on the Darlington School’s Second Century Capital Campaign and South Rome Redevelopment Agency’s Board of Directors.

“We are delighted to have Tom join the Wyoming Seminary community as our Interim President,” said Bill Sordoni, Chairman, Wyoming Seminary Board of Trustees. “Tom’s experience in similar schools will be invaluable while we conduct our search for our next permanent leader.”

He and his wife, Margo, a former elementary school teacher, are excited to join the Sem family. They are the proud parents of three grown children. They also have four grandchildren. 

The Leadership TEAM

The Wyoming Seminary Leadership Team is comprised of six administrators, who represent the Upper and Lower Schools. The Leadership Team will work closely with President Whitworth and The Board of Trustees' Executive Committee

The Leadership Team includes: Rachel Bartron, Upper School Dean; Julie Bean, Dean of Admission and Financial Aid; Julie Calabro, Chief Financial Officer; Dr. Kathleen Hanlon, Lower School Dean; Nina Moser, Vice President of Advancement; Nathan Kuhl, Director of Technology.

While Thomas C. Whitworth III fills the Interim President position, a full national search is underway to find a permanent President for the 2022-2023 school year and beyond.

Rachel Bartron

Rachel Bartron
Upper School Dean, Director of Climate and Science Sustainability

Julie Bean

Julie Bean
Dean of Admission & Financial Aid, Leader of Pandemic Crisis Response Team

Julie Calabro

Julie Calabro, CPA/CGMA
Chief Financial Officer

Kathy Hanlon

Kathleen Hanlon, EdD
Lower School Dean

Nina Moser

Nina Moser
Vice President of Advancement

Nate Kuhl

Nathan Kuhl
Director of Technology